TALK TO ME TUESDAYS- WHAT'S THE DEAL WITH EGG BEATERS?

Hey folks,

Welcome to another edition of Talk To Me Tuesdays! 

Today's question comes from our seven day vegan challenge participant Mike.  He sent me a text earlier asking if he could have egg beaters as an egg substitute.  The answer is an emphatic NO! Egg beaters are NOT vegan.  He wasn't too happy to hear this..sorry Mike. :-)  Besides with all the egg recalls going on here lately, even if I wasn't vegan, I'd be steering clear of anything remotely related!

Anyway, here's the deal on egg beaters:

Egg Beaters is a product sold as a substitute for whole chicken eggs. Egg Beaters is made with real eggs and is made of egg whites and fortified with vitamins and nutrients. Egg Beaters also contain xantham gum and guar gum as emulsifiers and thickeners. By eliminating the yolk,  Egg Beaters has fewer calories than whole eggs and has no fat or cholesterol.

So, this may be an alternative for non-vegans but definitely a no-go for vegans.  So, hands off Mike!


SOURCE: wikipedia.org

Comments

  1. Ill tell my family, help them lower there cholesterol!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yup! Maybe you'll be able to get them to use that product instead and then eventually get them off eggs period!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Speak your mind!